Memory Monday

I don’t really know exactly why I’m posting this, it’s so random. But hey enjoy! I believe I was around the age of six possibly seven at the time. I was enjoying myself at a park in my neighborhood on some play structure. I wanted to try to get on top of it so I decided that I was going to run and then jump. I was running and running, determined to get to the top but I had jumped too late and hit my head on the playhouse. There was an older boy there who was also playing on the structure who just so happen to be watching me the entire time. After falling in the bark, he continuously laughed at me. He called me something that I’ve never been called before and was offensive to me. Stupid. Right after that I ran to my house, up the stairs, and into my room. I was storming around trying to find something: my sister’s Cinderella book. Once I finally got my hands on it, I wrote my name on every single page. To make it even better, I put several lines through my name. With my six year old logic, I thought that if I showed the boy after, he wouldn’t think I was so stupid. I can’t remember what happened after that but I do remember that I never got to show that boy how smart I was. Despite my past and possibly still present stupidity, I learned that I should not have prove myself or try to impress people, I’ll only look pathetic attempting to do so. If I am going to be anything, I might as well just be myself, even if it is my stupid self. 

2 thoughts on “Memory Monday

Leave a Reply

